The castle of Donaueschingen has a long building history. The first building on this site was erected as early as the 16th century. However, it only served as a residence for one line of the House of Fürstenberg for a short time. It was only under Prince Joseph Wilhelm Ernst, who at the beginning of the 17th century was able to unite the possessions of the House of Fürstenberg, which had previously been distributed among various lines, in one hand, that Donaueschingen once again came into view, and this time permanently. For it was conveniently located at the symbolic source of the Danube and also close to the old ancestral castle on the Fürstenberg, which gave it its name.
From 1723, however, Prince Joseph Wilhelm Ernst only built a relatively simple, elongated building, which was to become part of a multi-wing Baroque palace complex that was never completed. This complex was no longer able to meet the more sophisticated demands of the 19th century in terms of comfort and representation. In 1892, Prince Karl Egon IV and his wife Dorothée, née Princess of Talleyrand-Perigord, began the renovation work. At that time, not only was the simple, elongated façade of the old baroque palace softened by the projecting central wing with balcony as well as two side risalites and a mighty dome.
The interior was also completely redesigned. Since then, the Donaueschingen Residence has uniquely combined the prestige and space of a palace with the living comfort of a villa, all under the auspices of a French-influenced sense of style. H.S.H. Prince Heinrich and his family moved into the building in 2002. Thanks to the renovation measures initiated at that time, which were only completed in 2007, Donaueschingen Castle is once again one of the most impressive and best-preserved castles in Baden-Württemberg.

Das Residenzschloss in Donaueschingen hat eine lange Baugeschichte. Ein erster Bau an dieser Stelle entstand bereits im 16. Jahrhundert. Er diente allerdings nur kurzzeitig einer Linie des Hauses Fürstenberg als Residenz. Erst unter Fürst Joseph Wilhelm Ernst, der zu Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts die bisher auf verschiedene Linien verteilten Besitzungen des Hauses Fürstenberg in einer Hand vereinen konnte, trat Donaueschingen erneut und diesmal dauerhaft in den Blick. Denn es war verkehrsgünstig an der symbolträchtigen Donauquelle und zudem in der Nähe der alten Stammburg auf dem namengebenden Fürstenberg gelegen.
Fürst Joseph Wilhelm Ernst errichtete seit 1723 allerdings nur einen relativ schlichten, langgestreckten Bau, der Teil einer nie ausgeführten mehrflügeligen barocken Schloßanlage werden sollte. Den gehobenen Ansprüchen des 19. Jahrhunderts an Wohnlichkeit und Repräsentation konnte diese Anlage nicht mehr genügen. 1892 begannen Fürst Karl Egon IV. und seine Gemahlin Dorothée, geb. Prinzessin von Talleyrand-Perigord mit dem Umbau. Damals wurde nicht nur die schlichte, langgestreckte Fassade des alten Barockschlosses durch den vorspringenden Mitteltrakt mit Balkon sowie zwei Seitenrisalite und eine mächtige Kuppel aufgelockert.
Auch das Innere wurde völlig neu gestaltet. Die Donaueschinger Residenz vereint seither in einzigartiger Weise den repräsentativen Anspruch und das Platzangebot eines Schlosses mit dem Wohnkomfort einer Villa und dies alles unter dem Vorzeichen eines französisch geprägten  Stilempfindens. Im Jahre 2002 zogen S.D. Fürst Heinrich und Familie in das Gebäude ein. Den damals eingeleiteten und erst 2007 abgeschlossenen Sanierungsmaßnahmen ist es zu verdanken, dass Schloss Donaueschingen heute wieder zu den eindrucksvollsten und am besten erhaltenen Schlössern in Baden-Württemberg zählt.